Type a new keyword(s) and press Enter to search

New England, Middle and Southern Colonies

            The first colonies in North America were settlers from Spain, France, Sweden, Holland, and England claimed land beginning in the 17th century. The struggle for control of this land would continue for more than a hundred years. However, the first permanent settlement in North America was by the English in 1607. More and more people arrived in the New World, and by 1732, the English colonies numbered 13. Each colony had its own unique characteristics, but historians lump them into groups based on where they were, why they were founded, and what kinds of industry they had. They divided them into three groups: The New England colonies (Rhode Island, Connecticut, Massachusetts, and New Hampshire), The Middle Colonies (Delaware, Pennsylvania, New York and New Jersey) and The Southern Colonies (Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia). The New England, Middle and Southern Colonies grew differently over the period 1619-1760.Examining the three sets of colonies will prove that they were all different: socially, economically, and politically.
             Reasons for leaving England.
             All of the people that left England were looking to better their lives. The people who settled in the New England Colonies wanted to keep their family unit together and practice their own religion. They were used to doing many things themselves and not depending on other people for much. Some of these people came to New England to make money, but they were not the majority. .
             The people who founded the Middle Colonies were looking to practice their own religion (Pennsylvania mainly) or to make money. Many of these people didn't bring their families with them from England and were the perfect workers for the hard work required in ironworks and shipyards. .
             The founders of the Southern Colonies were, for the most part, out to make money. They brought their families, as did the New England colonists, and they kept their families together on the plantations.