Paper Rating: Word Count: 1895 Approx Pages: 8

The Philippines is an archipelago of 7,107 islands in the South China Sea located between Taiwan to the north and Borneo to the south. Just 2,000 of its islands are inhabited and only 500 are larger than a kilometer square. The nine largest islands of Luzon, Mindanao, Palawan, Panay, Mindoro, Samar, Negros, Leyte and Cebu make up 90% of the nation's land area. The Philippines is mountainous in nature. The highest mountain is Mt. Apo, which is located in Mindanao. The second largest is Mt.Pulog in Luzon. There are recorded 50 volcanoes and most of them are still active. The most famous is Mt. Mayon, known as the world's most perfect cone. One can find here the lowest volcano in the world, called Taal Volcano (History of the Philippines 1). The country has only a few rivers and they abound in small mountains streams, which swell up as much as three times their size during the rainy season. The climate of the Philippines is divided mainly in two seasons: the dry season and the rainy season. The cool dry season extends from December to February and is followed by the hot dry season that is from March to May. The rainy season begins in June and continues to November. The typhoon season is generally from July to September although occasional

This Essay is Approved by Our Editor

Page 1 of 8 Next >

Related Essays