(855) 4-ESSAYS

Type a new keyword(s) and press Enter to search

Defining the Five Pillars of Islam

            The three religions, Islam, Christianity, and Judaism have many similarities and differences that have helped shaped each religion into what it is today. Although the three religions that are derived from the Abrahamic religions have many similarities that include the concept of a single God, similar practices in prayer and community spirit, it is important to note the differences that are equally as important as the similarities. While focusing on the practices of Judaism and Christianity mentioned in the Torah and the New Testament, it is also important to focus on the Five Pillars of Islam mentioned throughout the Koran. .
             According to Comparative Religion for Dummies, Lazarus and Sullivan go on to explain the Five Pillars of Islam by starting with the first pillar, which is Creed. Creed, which is also known as Shahada, is a public declaration of faith with the declaration specifically stating, "I bear witness that there is no God but Allah, and I bear witness that Muhammad is his messenger"" (Lazarus and Sullivan 130). A Muslim must make the public declaration at least once in a lifetime, although most recite it daily. By reciting this declaration, they are able to integrate into the religious community, and similar practices can also be seen in the religions of Christianity and Islam. In Christianity, the concept of baptism incorporates the idea of integrating into the community. Usually done by the head pastor, by pouring water on one's head, it signifies one has now become purified and is qualified to become a member of the Christian community. In the religion of Judaism, such practice is known as a "Bar Mitzvah"." It is a celebration in which when one turns a certain age, they read the Torah publicly for the first time usually followed by a lavish party in which one becomes members of the community. .
             The second pillar is prayer (Salat) which requires Muslims to pray five times daily "at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, and nightfall.

Essays Related to Defining the Five Pillars of Islam

Got a writing question? Ask our professional writer!
Submit My Question