(855) 4-ESSAYS

Type a new keyword(s) and press Enter to search

The Seven Sacraments of the Roman Catholic Chruch

             There are seven sacraments in the Church (Roman Catholic): Baptism, Confirmation or Chrismation, Eucharist, Penance or Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony. Each sacrament provides another step toward achieving Salvation. There are three different forms of the Sacraments: Initiation, Service of Communion and the Mission of the Faithful, and Healing. The order is very important in completing the sacraments and it is the only way that they can be completed. Even though the basics of many of the sacraments are the same, traditions have been altered over time.
             The sacrament of Baptism is the first sacrament. It is the sacrament of initiation. The faithful are born anew by Baptism. In Baptism, the baptized are freed of Original Sin and reborn into a new life of Christ. Original Sin is the sin given to all due to Adam and Eve. Adam and Eve took food from the tree in the Garden of Eden even though God instructed them not to take fruit from the tree. This was a sin and later was became known as Original Sin.
             "Then God cursed the serpent, and banished him from the Garden. He gave clothes to Adam and Eve, saying, "Now that know both good and evil, you must leave Eden. You cannot stay for fear you might eat also from the Tree of Life, and if you did that you would live forever." And God Drove them out of the Garden, and into the world. At the east of Eden he stationed cherubim and placed a flaming sword to guard the entrance to the Garden and to the Tree of Life." .
             To baptize (Greek baptizein) is to "plunge" or "immerse"; the "plunge" into the water symbolizes the catechumen's burial into Christ's death, from which he rises up by resurrection with him, as a "new creature.".
             The ceremony of the Baptism for Christ was in the Jordan River. It was performed by John the Baptist. At the baptism, both Christ and John were in the river. John poured water over Christ's forehead and baptized him in "The name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

Essays Related to The Seven Sacraments of the Roman Catholic Chruch

Got a writing question? Ask our professional writer!
Submit My Question