Paper Rating: Word Count: 644 Approx Pages: 3

Like many other sports, a variation of badminton can be traced back to the first century B.C.E. in China. The game of Ti Jian Zi involved hitting or kicking a shuttlecock with your hands or feet. This game was not only popular in China but also in Japan, India and Siam.

In the fourteenth century, the British played battledore shuttlecock, a sport in which players attempted to keep the shuttlecock in the air with the use of a racket or paddle. During this period up until the mid-1800s this game was widely recognized as a children's game.

In the early 1860s, British army soldiers stationed in India played a competitive sport called "poona  a game very similar to shuttlecock which included a net and boundaries. These soldiers brought the equipment and the game back to England in the mid-1870s and are credited with introducing the sport to the British peo

This Essay is Approved by Our Editor

Page 1 of 3 Next >

Related Essays